Posted by: sciliz | April 24, 2013

My story

So if I was not going to school what did I do?

I read. A lot. Fairly early on I found The Teenage Liberation Handbook which has a splendid bibliography and led me to find other lovely books, like Lives of a Cell, A People’s History of the United States, The Double Helix, and Surely You’re Joking, Mr. Feynman. I also probably got turned on to Tom Robbins sooner than I would have otherwise.

I colored. No, seriously. I read comics.

I socialized. Kind of a lot. With other homeschoolers, with neighborhood friends, at summer camp.

For a more complete reflection of my unschooling experience, there is a Q & A that I wrote up to answer a survey that was part of Gina Riley and Peter Gray‘s  research.

Leave a Reply

Categories

